VUI Design

Collection of Voice Design Principles

Designing a voice interface? Here's a useful list of lists: as many guiding principles as we could find, all in one place. List compiled and edited by Ben Sauer.

https://voiceprinciples.com

Design Guides By Platform

Amazon Alexa https://developer.amazon.com/docs/alexa-design/get-started.html https://developer.amazon.com/docs/quick-reference/design-for-voice-quick-reference.html https://developer.amazon.com/ask-resources/guided/conversational-design-workshop

Google Assistant https://developers.google.com/actions/design/ https://designguidelines.withgoogle.com/conversation https://dialogflow.com

Samsung Bixby https://bixbydevelopers.com/dev/docs/dev-guide/design-guides

Apple Siri https://developer.apple.com/design/human-interface-guidelines/sirikit

Microsoft Cortana https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/cortana/skills/design-principles

SoundHound https://www.soundhound.com/vui-guide

VUI Design Articles

Finding Your Brand Voice: 6 Ways to Build a Better VUI https://www.soundhound.com/VUI-guide

The most important tech boom designers are ignoring https://www.fastcompany.com/90338390/the-most-important-tech-boom-designers-are-ignoring

Voice User Interfaces (VUI) — The Ultimate Designer’s Guide https://medium.muz.li/voice-user-interfaces-vui-the-ultimate-designers-guide-8756cb2578a1

Voice First, Screen Second: Designing for Voice in Adobe XD https://blog.prototypr.io/voice-first-screen-second-designing-for-voice-in-adobe-xd-1a9e5efdca15

How to design a voice experience https://www.bbc.co.uk/gel/guidelines/how-to-design-a-voice-experience

The Art of Infusing Personality Into Your Voice User Interface https://blog.soundhound.com/the-art-of-infusing-personality-into-your-voice-user-interface-b11212637f95

A voice design workshop blueprint for Alexa skill building https://vux.world/voice-design-workshop-blueprint

Designing for voice interfaces http://voysis.com/2017/08/28/designing-voice-interfaces

A Guide To Voice Interfaces https://voiceui.fjordnet.com

10 Best Practices when Designing for Voice https://medium.com/opearlo/10-best-practices-when-designing-for-voice-8dd12e9372ae

Design better voice interactions with context https://www.dashbot.io/2019/06/20/design-better-voice-interactions-with-context

Primer on the context of voice: in the car, at home & on the go https://www.dashbot.io/2019/06/20/primer-on-the-context-of-voice-in-the-car-at-home-on-the-go

VUI Assessment Guidelines https://www.witlingo.com/vui-assessment-guidelines

Audio Signifiers for Voice Interaction https://www.nngroup.com/articles/audio-signifiers-voice-interaction

Voice design: creating experiences for Alexa and Google Assistant https://uxdesign.cc/voice-design-this-is-how-we-do-it-4e24f919e4c1